Hello all,
I felt the need to write and explain why I have been M.I.A for the past few days. I am actually having computer problems - big computer problems.
Last Friday my computer went completely haywire with warnings of hackers invading my internal hard drive and infecting my main system. By Friday night my Windows Vista program had shut down my access to the Internet, and by Saturday morning I could barley turn the darn thing on. Apparently my anti-virus software had expired a few weeks ago allowing multiple deadly Internet viruses (from Ukraine?) to attack my system.
I am kicking myself now for clicking "ignore" or "remind me later" for the past 3 months when those urgent messages about "subscription expiration" and "anti-virus protection warnings" would pop up. Davin warned me before I left that there was something wonky with my system. He even tried to urge me to get it checked out, but I didn't listen. Looking back on it I can't believe how long I let it go for. I can be so attentive and responsible with some things, but technology is just not one of them...good to know I guess.
Sunday Claudia and Tatjana tried desperately to help me get up and running again. Tatjana was on the net researching the different viruses I had - hello.11, Trojan.boot, worm.567 etc. etc., while Claudia was on Skype with her dad trying to figure out what to do (they were so sweet - getting so frusterated and caring about it more than I ever would). Claudia's dad owns a computer software company and he gave me a registration number for an antivirus protection program, but my computer was so infected that we couldn't even get it to run. I thanked the girls for their help but realized nothing was going to get done until Monday morning when I could get to a computer store here in Taipei.
Today, I woke up and went to the computer store on campus - closed for their 2 hour lunch. Then I went to the hospital to get some meds - also closed for their 2 hour lunch.
I forgot to mention, when I woke up Friday, my computer wasn't the only thing broken - my body was as well. I woke up with a burning throat, puffy eyes and sensitive nasal passages - great. I'm sick, and I'm not the only one. Most of the exchange students have something wrong with them as well, whether it be a sore throat, pink eye or runny nose. I am taking care of myself mind you - I skipped out on Saturday nights festivities to stay in with Tatjana's special seltzer, plenty of water, and a chick flick. I took it easy yesterday and after class today I will head straight to bed. It's easy to relax when you don't have your computer to distract you...right so back to the computer...
I finally managed to see the computer doctor here on campus about half an hour ago. He told me that I was out of luck, because the only anti-virus programs he has are in Chinese. When I begged he agreed to look at it. I don't know if this was the ONLY solution but we came to an agreement. He is going to wipe my computer clean, install Windows XP (I have vista now), and give me a decent anti-virus protection program for free, and it will all be complete by tonight or tomorrow morning. I'll take it. I told him I just want it to work so if that means loosing my data, I'm O.K. with it. I really don't store much on there anyways.
So that has been my past few days - I've left out the fire alarm test, the night market and sushi night, but I'll save those for when I have the pictures to upload as well.
Talk soon (hopefully).
Sunday, March 7, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

What you observe in others until they fail, whereupon you say, “I told you so.”!@Sara
ReplyDeleteDrivers Download